Win Some – Lose Some

It’s difficult to say, but I have leveled out in my weight loss endeavor for the last two weeks! I did expect that this would happen at some point, albeit much sooner than now. I did have some eating transgressions due to family events and church events where my options were less than desirable. I think that in light of those things I have fared well by not gaining any weight (see how I did that, turn something seemingly negative into a positive!!) LOL. If you can’t poke fun at yourself who can you?

Regardless, I haven’t been racked with shame or guilt as I expected I may be. It really has just been a reassurance that I need to stick to those simple things I have been doing;

1) Eat as many fruits and vegetables as your heart desires.

– Season it well, food should taste good.

2) Drink as much water as you desire!.

3) Eat fruits, nuts, granola bars, etc. for snacks when you are hungry.

-Eating healthy is not about starving!!!!!!!

4) If you need to eat bread make it whole grain/whole wheat

5) When you eat protein make it lean and small portions.

That’s really it and don’t try to read between the lines, there’s nothing there for a reason. As I have been reminded lately I am a free spirit and we don’t like lots of rules, KISS is my motto (Keep It Simple Stupid). I truly believe that we overcomplicated things for ourselves and that is why we don’t stick with it. Eating, Work, Personal Life, Spiritual Life, etc. are just a few examples of things we overcomplicated. Micah 6:8 says it well, “…what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God” then much later Jesus said in Matt. 22.37, “Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.”

It’s ok to Win Some and lose some as the saying goes. Don’t get discouraged and don’t be too hard on yourself if things don’t always go your way in our endeavors of life. The scripture that states, “for all have sinned and come short of the glory of God” rings true to me in this instance. None of us are exempt from failure, our choice is to either grow or wilt when faced with it. Make a choice to stand up in adversity and grow stronger.  Sometimes adversity is the daily struggle every time the beast in your belly calls out to you, grow stronger in this and it will benefit all other areas of your life!!! Not to ramble or belabor the point; but I think this is why fasting is such a key in our spiritual lives, if we can gain control over our appetites and hungers we can gain huge in spiritual disciplines.

So, I am still at 224 as I was at my last posting. I am ok with that and will endeavor to overcome this little hurdle and reach the ultimate goal weight of 210 lbs. We can do this!

For Now,

Steven

Please join us and reply!

