Depression and matters of the heart…

“Out of the abundance of the heart does the mouth speak” Prov. 4:23

I recently read a post on Facebook that was particularly painful to me. A young person was struggling with difficult feelings and harsh criticism. This hit particularly close to home due to my own struggles with depression and my own daily internal dialogue.

I find that I latch easily onto the things that degrade and minimize me. This is a result of my natural propensity to deflect any praise or encouragement. My assumption is usually that praise is not merited except that the other person wants me to do something or they are just being polite. Therefore, to reference the Five Love Languages, my tank stays empty. So, when criticism is given or failure encountered I naturally latch onto that as reality and worthy of particular attention and merit. I see this across all facets of my life from my spiritual walk, thought life, relationships, parenting, friendships, work, weightloss, etc.

As you can imagine this is a DANGEROUS way to live. Several years ago this life approach lead me to a difficult and serious cycle of self inflicted mental/spiritual wounds. Thankfully, my wife discerned my situation and confronted me about where I was. Through that realization and God opening doors professionally to remove me from a difficult work environment and my over commitments at church. I avoided completely alienating friends, family, and church.

Then began the difficult task of restoring my relationship to God, my wife, my kids, and importantly correcting my internal dialogue. I needed to fill my heart with Good and Positive things so my mouth (both internal and physical) would speak abundant life and truth.

As I am currently tracking my weightloss goals I would like to address this impact on my diet change. This has been critical, when I allow negative thoughts to dominate my mind I start loosing ground and lose site of my goal. Negative thought is far more distracting and time consuming to manage and will consume your life if you let it. This negative thought will get you so far off track that you will miss God’s blessings in your life. Realizing that your family genuinely wants you to succeed and help you succeed was key for me, realizing God loves me without strings attached was huge.

I want to leave you with this statement: Accept encouragement and give encouragement!

Lastly, look at the photo!!!! 4 more lbs.!!!!

Please join us and reply!

